Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals, often abbreviated as RR, are a franchise Indian cricket team based at Jaipur, Rajasthan. They participate in the Indian Premier League. The Sawai Mansingh Stadium (Jaipur) is where the team was first established as one of the eight IPL franchises. The Royals have a reputation for finding high-potential talent and are also known for their involvement with a variety of scandals.


Under Shane Warne’s captaincy, the team won IPL, winning the inaugural edition. However, it was considered to be a title contender by both media and fans. The Royals were also runners-up in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 with Rahul Dhavid as their captain.


The Supreme Court of India’s panel reached a verdict on 14 July 2015. It was a suspension of the Rajasthan Royals of India, and Chennai Super Kings of Chennai for two years over a 2013 gambling scandal. This meant that they were unable to participate in both the 2016 IPL tournaments and 2017. They returned to the IPL competition for the 2018-season.


Ajinkya Rahane has set the team’s run record with 3098 runs. Shane Watson was the top wicket-taker, with 67.


Franchise History

BCCI announces the IPL in September 2007, with a Twenty20 competition that will begin in 2008. Rajasthan Royals was among the first eight teams to participate in the inaugural IPL season in 2008. Emerging Media was able to acquire the Jaipur-based franchise teams with a bid totaling $67 million. This makes it the most inexpensive team in this league.


Manoj Basdale-led Emerging Media IPL Ltd owns a 65 percent stake in the franchise. RedBird Capital Partners (also a key minority shareholder) and Lachlan Murdoch (the owner of the franchise) are also key stakeholders. The ownership of RedBird Capital Partners and Lachlan Murdoch has been in dispute for some time. In 2010, the league expelled the team. In 2009, the franchise realized a profit of $7.5million before taxes.


Expulsion and return to the IPL

In 2010, the BCCI voted to remove Kings XI Punjabi and Rajasthan Royals IPL teams. Shane Warne, captain of the Rajasthan Royals, was confused by the expulsion. He said that he suspected foul play and that some other motives might have been involved. The Rajasthan Royals appealed against this decision and the parties went to Mumbai High Court to make a decision. The Mumbai High Court adjourned it until 29 October 2010. However, it was modified to 15 November as they did not want it to coincide with Diwali celebrations.


Later, the Royals declared to the Bombay High Court that the Royals had informed them that they were in negotiations with an arbitration panel to try and reconcile themselves with the IPL. While the investigation was ongoing the arbitrator said that the Royals would be included in the IPL for six consecutive weeks. He also stated that the BCCI would not have the authority to modify any rules that could affect the Royals. The six-week period covered the player auction, which was attended by Rajasthan Royals. After the hearing, the Bombay High Court ruled that the BCCI could not appeal against the suspension of the Rajasthan Royals from the IPL for six consecutive weeks. The case was being sorted. BCCI decided not to take further action against Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals because of reputation damage. They were allowed to play in the IPL.


2015 Ban

The Lodha Committee investigation resulted in the exclusion of the team from the sport for two years.


Rajasthan Royals became the center of controversy due to inappropriate and fictitious offers that were made. This violated BCCI norms. Ranjit Bhattakur and Fraser Castellino held the two remaining shares in the team. At the time, the BCCI had no idea of their ownership. There was an out-of-court settlement between them. The BCCI had banned the Rajasthan Royals for two years, with Raj Kundra as its owner for life.


Team History

2019 IPL

The Royals retained 16 IPL players and released 9. Rajasthan bought 9 players in the auction.


Paddy Upton, the Royals coach, was announced ahead of the 2019 Indian Premier League. Steve Smith returned from the IPL on 25 March 2019. This was after he was barred by BCCI from participating in the 2018 Australian season. Ajinkya Rhane retained his captaincy at the start of the season. However, Steve Smith, who had a string to poor results, replaced Ajinkya Rhane as Rajasthan Royals’ captain on 20 April 2019.


2020 IPL

The Royals retained 11 and released 11 players ahead of of the 2020 IPL Auction. Ajinkya Rahane, Krishnappa Gowtham, Dhawal Kulkarni, and Dhawal Kulkarni, respectively, were sold by Royals to Delhi Capitals Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, and Delhi Capitals. Royals traded Mayank Maranda, Rahul Twatia, Ankit Rajpoot, and Rahul Tewatia to Delhi Capitals.


Andrew McDonald was appointed as the Royals Head Coach for the 2020 Indian Premier League. Steve Smith was selected to continue as the Royals captain. The team started very well with two wins in their first match. The team was unable to maintain momentum and lost four consecutive matches. They finished the season at bottom of the points table, having won six of their fourteen matches. Despite Rajasthan’s defeat, JofraArcher, their most valuable player of this season was still named.


2021 IPL

Eight players were released from Rajasthan by the Indian Premier League on the 20th of Jan 2021. They also announced Sanju Samson as their captain for the season 2021.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *