Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League

IPL, an Indian professional Twenty20 (T20) cricket league was founded in the year 2008. The league, built on a round-robin group with knockout formats, includes teams from important Indian cities.

With the creation of the BCCI Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the IPL has evolved into the highest-paying and well-known outlet for cricket. The games generally start in the late afternoon or evening, so that at a minimum, a portion of games are played in floodlights at night, to increase the viewers for broadcasts across the globe. In the beginning, league matches would be played on a regular home-and-away basis, with all teams playing each other but with the plan for the increase to 10 teams (divided into two five-group groups) during 2011, the format was changed to ensure that matches between certain teams would be limited to one game.


Four teams in the top 4 play three playoff matches. one team that loses being offered an opportunity to go back to the final. This is a strategy that aims to increase potential television revenue. The play-off part of the tournament consists of four teams who finished near the top of the table through knockout games, which gives one team who lost their first-round match a second chance to make it to the final game.



Since the introduction of the IPL in the blink of an eye, the top cricketers from around the world – who never had the sort of money as their counterparts from other professional sports – became millionaires. The owners of IPL franchises, which included large corporations, Bollywood film stars, and media moguls, competed for the top players in auctions organized by the league. At the beginning of the IPL, the financially sound Mumbai Indians had the league’s most expensive payroll, which was over $100 million.



They paid the Chennai Super Kings $1.5 million to sign Mahendra Dhoni at the start of the auction of the season 2008. It cost for the Kolkata Knight Riders $2.4 million to acquire Gautam Gambhir, the opener batsman of India’s national team. Indian national team in the auction for the 2011 season.



The eight franchises that were founded were those of the Mumbai Indians, the Chennai Super Kings The Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Deccan Chargers (based in Hyderabad), and the Delhi Daredevils, the Punjab XI Kings, the KKR, and the RR (Jaipur). Two franchises, Rajasthan and Punjab were removed from league play by BCCI for violating ownership policy, however, they were reinstated at a later time for the 2011 championship.



Two franchises that were not previously established two franchises, the Pune Warriors India and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala, joined the IPL for the 2011 season. The Kochi club only played for one year before the BCCI canceled the contract. In 2013, the Deccan Chargers were replaced in the IPL by the Sunrisers Hyderabad.



The inaugural tournament, which ran for 44 consecutive days during 2008 took place in 2008 and was won by Rajasthan Royals, one of the franchises with a smaller market, helmed by Shane Warne, the great Australian bowler. After the success of the IPL, the other cricketing nations rushed to take advantage of the wealth by creating their domestic T20 leagues.



Match rules

IPL games make use of television timeouts, and there is no limit to the time at which teams have to complete their innings. But, a fine could be inflicted if the umpires discover teams are not using this privilege. Each team is allotted a 2:30 min “strategic timeout” during each innings; one must be taken by the bowling team between the ends of the 6th and 9th overs, as well as one by the batting side between the 13 & 16 overs.



Since the season began 2018 in 2018, in the season of 2018, the Umpire Decision Review System is employed for every IPL game, giving every team the chance to look over an on-field umpire’s decision for each innings.



Brand worth


The IPL has seen a rapid increase in value between 2016 and 2018, as shown by a series of increases of value between one year and the following. The IPL overall was estimated by experts in the field of finance as US$4.16 billion as of 2016, however, this number increased by $5.3 billion by 2017 and $6.13 billion in 2018. A report by Duff & Phelps said that one of the factors to the rapid increase in the worth of the Indian Premier League was signing an agreement to broadcast the game together with Star India Private Limited, which attracted more attention because the IPL was broadcast to regional channels in eight languages instead of the previous agreement that saw the broadcasts restricted to sports channels with English commentary in English. The report also said that the sport was continuing to rebound from the recent scandals, saying “This IPL season has grabbed attention for the right reasons. It was an almost non-controversial tournament and some dazzling performance on the field that has brought the spotlight back to the sport.”



According to an independent study conducted by Brand Finance, a London-based firm, following the end of 2017’s Indian Premier League, the IPL has seen its commercial value rise by 37%, reaching a record of $5.3 billion — surpassing the $5 billion thresholds for the very first time in one season. The league has proven financially rewarding for franchisees, players sponsors, as well as India in general which has led to a strong demand from a variety of parties to recognize it as a valuable asset. To ensure its continued growth the team’s management and owners must look at creative ways to connect with the fans, clubs, and sponsors.”




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.