Types of Banks in India | UPLOADSOON


Types of Banks in India


Are you self-assured when it comes to income and banking? Learn about the many kinds of Indian banks as well as their activities. An applicant must grasp the various kinds of banks and their respective duties in operating a nation’s monetary system, according to the governmental exam curriculum. Banks are monetary entities that accept savings and lend money. There are various types of banking institutions in India, every with its unique list of duties. The bank takes public deposits at a significantly less ratio, referred to as the deposit rate, then loans cash at a significantly higher percentage, referred to as the interest rate. Banks’ core functions are largely the same; yet, the sorts of people with whom every industry or kind agreements may differ.



These are the different types of Bank In India:

The Central Bank

The Reserve Bank is our government’s central bank. Every nation has a national bank that controls all other banking organizations in the country.

The central bank’s primary function is to act as the govt’s bank while also supervising and regulating the nation’s other financial firms. The following are the tasks of a nation’s central bank:

providing assistance to other banking firms


Currency printing and monetary policy enforcement


The banking system’s watchdog

In several other terms, the nation’s central bank is also referred as the banker’s institution (Bank) since it aids other banking institutions and oversees the nation’s monetary system.


Commercial Banks

The corporation was created by the Banking Act of 1956.

They operate on a for-profit premise, having profit as their main objective.

They are united in form and are controlled by the govt, state, or another corporate enterprise.

They are in charge of all areas, from villages to cities.

Unless specifically directed by the RBI, most banks don’t really offer low-interest loans.

The principal funding source for these institutions is public savings.

There are three categories of commercial banks:

The govt or the nation’s central bank holds the bulk of the equity in public sector banks.

Institutions in the private sector is one in which the bulk of the shares is owned by a private business, a person, or a group of individuals.

Foreign Banks – This section contains banks that have their HQ’s in foreign countries but have offices in the US.


Rural Regional Banks

These are special forms of corporate banks that make low-interest loans to the agricultural and the rural sector.

RRBs were established in 1975 and yet are supervised under the Regional Rural Bank Act of 1976.

RRBs are commercial banks that are a 50/50 shared partnership between the national govt and state govt.

There were 196 RRBs created during 1987 and 2005.

The state started combining RRBs in 2005, increasing the overall office of RRBs to 82.

A solitary RRB cannot establish offices in more exceeding 3 geographically related districts.

Local Area Banks

It was initially launched in India around 1996.

These are organized by the private industry.

The fundamental purpose of local community banks is to generate revenue.

Local Area Banks primarily controlled under the Companies Act of 1956.

There are presently exactly 4 Local Area Banks under operation, most of them are in Southern India.

Payments Banking institutions

The Reserve Bank of India invented the payments financial institution, a new type of financing. Persons with a payment savings account could only cash up to 10 Lakhs and no one request for loan or credit facilities using these accounts.

Online banking, mobile payments, ATM card registration, as well as payment card issuance are all facilities offered by payment organizations. The following is a summary of the numerous payment banks within our nation:


Airtel Payments Bank

Paytm Payments Bank

NSDL Payments Bank

Fino Payments Bank

India Post Payments Bank

Jio Payments Bank

Cooperative Banks

A statute issued by the state authority governs such banks. They create short credit to farmers and other agricultural companies.

The primary goal of these banking institutions is to improve social wellbeing by making small inter loans.


Corporate Banks are organized in a three-tiered structure.

Tier 1 (State Level) State Banks (controlled under Reserve Bank of India, State Government, or NABARD)

The initiative is funded in part by the Reserve Bank of India, the state, and the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD). Following that, the funds are distributed to the general public.

CRR and SLR discounts apply to such banks. (SLR = 25%, CRR = 3%)

The corporation belongs to the state, and the top administration is elected by the representatives.

Level two Central/District Co-operative Banks.

Farming (Level 3 (Town Level)) (Main) Banks that operate together



Small-Scale Finance Institutions

As the title suggests, this type of bank offers loans and monetary assistance to micro-enterprises, local farmers, and the unorganized section of the community. These banks are supervised by the nation’s central bank.


The below contains a list of small financing banks in our nation:


AU Small Finance Bank


Fincare Small Finance Bank


Equitas Small Finance Bank


Capital Small Finance Bank


Jana Small Finance Bank


Northeast Small Finance Bank


Suryoday Small Finance Bank




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.