Union Public Service Commission is the entire name of the UPSC. The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), India’s largest governing authority, conducts among the most difficult and prominent tests, public jobs. UPSC also holds a variety of difficult tests to recruit numerous civil service jobs for the Indian Govt.


The Civil Services Examination (CSE), often referred to as the IAS (Indian Administrative Service) test, is administered by the UPSC. It is divided into two parts: UPSC Prelims as well as UPSC Mains. The prelims test consists of multiple-choice questions, whereas the main examination requires subjective as well as essay-type responses. The UPSC is now in charge of administering several exams for positions such as IAS, IPS, and IFS.



In 1854, the British East India Company pioneered the notion of a Civil Servants test. Earlier, the Indian Civil Servants tests were exclusively held in London. The very first Indian, Shri Satyendranath Tagore, sibling of Shri Rabindranath Tagore, passed this test year 1864. Only when the Montagu Chelmsford changes were Indian civil service examinations conducted in India.


On Oct 1, 1926, India’s Public Service Commission was finally established. The inaugural Chairperson of the Committee was Mr. Ross Barker, a respected senior of the United Kingdom’s Home Civil Service. The Federal Public Service Commission was renamed the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) following the adoption of the Constitutional Provisions on Jan 26, 1950. As a result, UPSC was established as the central committee in charge of arranging government employment exams.


What are the UPSC’s Duties?

According to Article 320 of the Constitution, the UPSC’s powers include the following:

  • The creation and modification of hiring standards for public services and positions.
  • Handling regulatory matters involving various Civil Services or officers.
  • Organize recruiting tests for appointments to the Union’s services.
  • Applicants are recruited directly via interviews.
  • Recruitment of members to the cadre as a result of seniority, deputation, or incorporation.
  • Assisting the Govt on any topic referred to it by the Indian President.


No. of UPSC Examination Chances for Any Applicant


  • For the General and OBC categories, and corresponds to the Creamy layer – 7 Tries
  • Seven Tries at an OBC non-creamy covering
  • Candidates for the Scheduled Caste as well as Tribals classifications have no limit on the number of tries they can make until they reach the age of 35.
  • Aspirants belonging to the OBC/SC/ST categories might give the first four tries as General category rivals (if they so want) and thereafter benefit from the class restriction by reducing the number of tries.



Difference between UPSC and PSC


Union Public Service Commission

State Public Service Commission(State PSC)

According to Article 315 of the Constitution Of India, the UPSC is a government institution. Article 315 of the Indian Constitution designates All-State PSCs as a government institution.
In India, there have been no additional divisions of the UPSC. Each Indian state has a State Public Service Commission.
A chairperson and several officials comprise the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). A chairman as well as several officials make up a State Public Service Commission (SPSC).
The President appoints the representatives of the UPSC. The Governor of the individual state appoints the people in the State Commission.
The Union Public Service Commission’s Chairperson and participants are chosen for a six-year period or until they reach the age of 65. The State Public Service Commission’s Chairperson and participants are elected for a 6-year term or until they reach the age of 62.
The UPSC delivers a yearly analysis to the President that includes all of the Committee’s work information. The State PSC reports toward the Governor on its progress on a yearly basis.



Personality Assessment Structure for IAS Exam

  • All applicants who met the Mains exam criteria percentage will be invited to the Psychological Test.
  • This includes Psychometric Testing, the Ability Test, and the Face To face interview.
  • The purpose of the interviewing is for a Committee of qualified and neutral participants to evaluate the participant’s personal fitness for a future in civil service. The applicant will be quizzed on topics of broad interest.
  • The purpose of the exam is to assess a participant’s intellectual capacity.
  • In general words, it is an analysis of the person’s intellectual abilities as well as his behavioral characteristics and curiosity in current events.

Also Read:-

About UPSC


Which exams are held by the UPSC?

To comprehend UPSC, one must first recognize the UPSC exams. The list consists of UPSC examinations:

  • Exams for the National Defence Academy and the Naval Academy (NDA)
  • Exam for the Indian Statistical Service (ISS)
  • Exam for Indian Economic Service (IES)
  • Exam for the Indian Forest Service (IFS)
  • Exam for both a geoscientist and a geologist
  • The Indian Civil Services Examination (ICSE) is used to hire officials such as IAS, IPS, IRS, and others.
  • Examination for Indian Engineering Services
  • Combined Medical Services Exams 
  • Central Armed Police Forces (ACs) Exams
  • Combined Medical Services Exams 
  • UPSC EPFO and other examinations have many hiring tests.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.